Submitting motions

Motions from branches are welcomed and can be submitted using UNISON’s Online Conference System (OCS).

Deadline for Submission of Motions: 12.00 noon, Tuesday 28 February 2017
Publication of Preliminary Agenda: Monday 20 March 2017
Deadline for Submission of Amendments: 12.00 noon, Tuesday 25 April 2017
Publication of Final Agenda: Monday 15 May 2017
Deadline for Emergency Motions: 9.00am, Tuesday 13 June 2017

FAQs

Submitting motions

  • How are conference motions submitted?

    Motions can be submitted at branch level by either the Branch Chair or Branch Secretary, using the Online Conference System (OCS). The other will receive e-mail copies of the motion submission as soon as it is submitted. Branch employed staff are also able to enter motions but do not have authority to submit them on behalf of a branch.

    At regional level, the regional secretary is authorised to submit the motion, with the regional convenors receiving an instant e-mail copy. This process is replicated at national level for national bodies and their relevant chairs and secretaries.

Using the OCS

  • Who can help if I have a problem accessing or using OCS?

    If you have a ‘My UNISON’ registration issue: UNISONdirect on 0800 0 857 857.

    If you have an OCS issue, please contact your relevant regional contact. Listed below are the Conference contacts for each region, who can also assist with online conference registration:

    Region

    Contact

    Tel

    E-mail

    Eastern

    Amanda Tickner

    01245 608909

    a.tickner@unison.co.uk

    East Midlands

    Mark Ward

    0115 847 5408

    m.ward@unison.co.uk

    Colleen Forrest (Thurs & Fri only)

    0115 847 5468

    c.forrest@unison.co.uk

    Greater London

    Shelley Davey Lorraine Tant Cally Thompson

    0207 535 6648

    glrconference@unison.co.uk

    Northern

    Allison Jackson

    0191 245 0805

    a.jackson2@unison.co.uk

    Northern Ireland

    Elizabeth Robinson

    02890 270190

    e.robinson@unison.co.uk

    North West

    Kim Scott

    0161 661 6777

    k.scott@unison.co.uk

    Gillian Gorman

    0161 661 6743

    g.gorman@unison.co.uk

    Scotland

    Rosaleen Rodgers

    0141 342 2816

    r.rodgers@unison.co.uk

    Jean Fraser

    0141 342 2880

    j.fraser@unison.co.uk

    South East

    Catherine Still

    01634 285708

    c.still@unison.co.uk

    Kieran Pearson

    01483 406510

    k.pearson@unison.co.uk

    South West

    Jenn Gollings (Mon – Thurs only)

    01823 285336

    j.gollings@unison.co.uk

    Cymru/Wales

    Rosa Pickavance

    01792 483910

    r.pickavance@unison.co.uk

    West Midlands

    Claire Kenny

    0121 685 3174

    c.kenny@unison.co.uk

    Yorkshire & Humberside

    Laraine Senior

    0113 218 2333

    l.senior@unison.co.uk

  • What if the correct branch people have accessed ‘My UNISON’ but then cannot access the OCS?

    Key to accessing the OCS is ensuring that the data held on UNISON’s membership system, the RMS, is correct. It records which members hold the key positions of Branch Secretary and Branch Chair.

    If this information is incorrect, or if it changes, the branch needs to ensure that the RMS records are updated immediately. Then the individual should call their regional contact.

    It will help the system to function if these key branch people also have an e-mail address stored on their RMS records. Please contact your branch or regional RMS team urgently, to make this happen. Each delegate within a delegation should also have their date of birth stored on the RMS.

  • How can you access the OCS?

    Users access the OCS via the UNISON website at www.unison.org.uk and clicking on ‘My UNISON’ – which is located at the top of the front page. Using your UNISON membership number and surname, register once and you will be issued with a password. For subsequent access, simply click on ‘My UNISON’ and then ‘Sign-in now’ and you will need your membership number and the password you were issued. Branch employed staff should call their regional contact.

  • Which members can use the OCS?

    When a member is registered as a delegate to a conference, they will receive an e-mail informing them of this as long as their e-mail address is listed on the RMS. They can then also access the OCS to upload their photograph, to make online requests for services such as reasonable adjustments, crèche places and babysitting, which should be made by the deadline stated.

Resources